Sign up for our newsletter! 
Home News Products Downloads Forum Distributors Store Contact Us
PPE User Forum
December 15, 2017, 10:01:11 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2  All
  Print  
Author Topic: V1.0.8 B880 Installed  (Read 12376 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
bengteck
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 101


TypeRR HCHII


View Profile
« on: October 20, 2008, 11:48:35 pm »

wonder if you classified as bug-

i'm using pcmscan V2.4 for more than 365 days on my kohjinsha UMPC 500MHz AMD Geode LX800 @1GB RAM
after using dash command for only one day i found problems

after i shut down and power upon return to car, first time reg lic
1 speedo show me driving at 255km/h!
rest of the reading didn't take note

despite reset the pc few times i cannot restore the reading
even running the pcmscan fail to connect to OBD2
i can see the ELM blinking normal
only solution was to unplug the OBD2 cable to the car

same day another new problem appear, no lic store so redo
1 speedo show 0 km/h depite moving
2 MAF show zero reading
3 other reading was moving fine

reset pc solve the problem

---------
seems after the two hicups, dash seems ok for now

=======================================
different bet pcmscan and dash
1 dash sw refresh ELM at twice faster rate
2 pcmscan will hang if off engine but dash continue
3 pcmscan will continue if engine on within (maybe 10mins, if more an error message appear)
4 dash will deploy funny reading like 0km/h or  0 MAF

i'll be back for more
(if any appears later)
Logged

BengTeck - Honda Civic Hybrid 2007
Kohjinsha UMPC 500MHz AMD Geode LX800 @ 1GB Ram
ElmScan 5 c/w External BlueTooth & ScanXL Pro v3.2.0 (Build 1692) & Dash Command v2.5.0 (Build 1692)
bengteck
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 101


TypeRR HCHII


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2008, 04:00:04 am »

i've more inputs after understand the dash better

whenever i shut off the engine and left the car pc on with dash still running
the above problem surfaced

if i left it for less than 1/2 hour, i'll see 0km/h and MAF not working
if i left it for more than 1/2 hour, i'll see 255km/h and MAF not working
shut down dash will solve the problem

unlike in the pcmscan i can return within 1/2 hour the sw restore and start running again
but beyond 1/2 hour i still can see the sw running but pop out an error message

can i request auto resume within certain time for dash ?

Logged

BengTeck - Honda Civic Hybrid 2007
Kohjinsha UMPC 500MHz AMD Geode LX800 @ 1GB Ram
ElmScan 5 c/w External BlueTooth & ScanXL Pro v3.2.0 (Build 1692) & Dash Command v2.5.0 (Build 1692)
DCDave
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 86



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2008, 01:24:13 pm »

whenever i shut off the engine and left the car pc on with dash still running
the above problem surfaced

if i left it for less than 1/2 hour, i'll see 0km/h and MAF not working
shut down dash will solve the problem

I noticed this too when I first installed the Elm327. I thought it was a USB port allocation or ECU problem but obviously not. I'll check later this week when I get the Elm327 back in the car!

Keep us posted!

Regards,
Dave
Logged
Brandon@PPE
Global Moderator
Full Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 238


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2008, 05:26:55 pm »

@bengteck can you provide us with a tech log of the situation on level 9? You may have discovered a bug in the software.
Tech log:
Set the debug option to level 9.
"Help>Debug Options>Debug Level 9"
Try to connect, after failure, save the tech log.
"Help>Debug Options>Save Tech log"
Logged
bengteck
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 101


TypeRR HCHII


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2008, 02:04:38 am »

presume you're referring to pcmscan capture as dash don't support them

hope i get what you need as saved time defer by few hours
started the car abt the time file saved
first few time i off engine not able show the fault
finally at abt 1+pm the reading all hang as i return back to car more than 1/2 hour 

file size bigger than your allowed, send you via mail
Logged

BengTeck - Honda Civic Hybrid 2007
Kohjinsha UMPC 500MHz AMD Geode LX800 @ 1GB Ram
ElmScan 5 c/w External BlueTooth & ScanXL Pro v3.2.0 (Build 1692) & Dash Command v2.5.0 (Build 1692)
DCDave
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 86



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2008, 01:30:54 am »

Sorry to jump in again. I know I only have Dashcommand, hence no debugging facility, but just to confirm I pulled in for petrol/gas yesterday, left the car PC running (but obviously removed the key from the ignition - ECU off), filled up, continued my journey and lost most of the OBD information - almost as if frozen  Huh.

A reset would have cleared the fault but it was too busy to turn full screen off, exit from menu and restart on my 7" touchscreen and I was only 3 minutes from home anyway.

My aim is to provide constructive feedback and this is not a moan. I'm more than happy with the software and think all the guys (and girls) at PPE do a fantastic job - especially customer service!

Kind Regards,
Dave
Logged
bengteck
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 101


TypeRR HCHII


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: October 29, 2008, 12:49:27 am »

i've another input for your kind consideration

there's a full screen mode which i think was great
especially for smaller (7") screen size like mine
but due the sw bug as i must turn off the dash once engine off
but i find it a hassle to go back to the same mode
to disable the full screen bef i can shut down dash

pls place a one touch button OFF for future upgrade

thanks
Logged

BengTeck - Honda Civic Hybrid 2007
Kohjinsha UMPC 500MHz AMD Geode LX800 @ 1GB Ram
ElmScan 5 c/w External BlueTooth & ScanXL Pro v3.2.0 (Build 1692) & Dash Command v2.5.0 (Build 1692)
DCDave
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 86



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: October 29, 2008, 02:46:52 am »

pls place a one touch button OFF for future upgrade

thanks

I would second that. I suspect the bug will be found and fixed but an 'off' (maybe a circular red button displayed with the 'Dashboard' and 'Settings' buttons or similar) would be good for the touchscreen community. Smiley

Good thinking Bengtach Wink.

Thanks,
Dave
Logged
Brandon@PPE
Global Moderator
Full Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 238


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: November 11, 2008, 10:10:14 pm »

Thanks for the suggestion.
Logged
bengteck
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 101


TypeRR HCHII


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: November 23, 2008, 07:57:11 am »

i've installed the new V2.4.9 b880
within an hour return to car confirm problem gone
the hang problem resolved for pcmscan

but what happen to dashcommand upgrade?
Logged

BengTeck - Honda Civic Hybrid 2007
Kohjinsha UMPC 500MHz AMD Geode LX800 @ 1GB Ram
ElmScan 5 c/w External BlueTooth & ScanXL Pro v3.2.0 (Build 1692) & Dash Command v2.5.0 (Build 1692)
Brandon@PPE
Global Moderator
Full Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 238


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: December 10, 2008, 09:11:32 pm »

Sorry for the late response, I'm honestly not sure about the release on the new DashCommand. I'll check with the powers that be.
Logged
bengteck
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 101


TypeRR HCHII


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: December 15, 2008, 06:20:42 am »

sad to inform but the hang problem back
i'm unable to provide you the tech log as i'm unable access once hanged
the error pop out and i cannot access the icon till i force disconnect PCMscan sw
Logged

BengTeck - Honda Civic Hybrid 2007
Kohjinsha UMPC 500MHz AMD Geode LX800 @ 1GB Ram
ElmScan 5 c/w External BlueTooth & ScanXL Pro v3.2.0 (Build 1692) & Dash Command v2.5.0 (Build 1692)
Brandon@PPE
Global Moderator
Full Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 238


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: December 16, 2008, 03:57:05 pm »

We've recently updated to build 977. Maybe that will help.

I hope it does...
Logged
DCDave
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 86



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: March 03, 2009, 01:37:35 pm »

Sorry guys, i have to report this problem with the 1091 build. I pulled in for fuel and left the PC (not car) running. Obviously the ECU timed-out. Started the car again and the ECU info (Speed, rpm and throttle position) didn't refresh. I switch the OBD (elm 327 v1.2) off and back on. The speed and throttle position came back but rpm didn't.

Am I right in thinking this was hopefully resolved.

This is by no means criticism of your work, simply feedback for you guys to keep DashCommand the market leader.

Thanks,
Dave
Logged
Brook@PPE
Global Moderator
Newbie
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 35


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: March 07, 2009, 03:00:03 pm »

If someone can capture a tech log of the issue, it would greatly help us narrow down any possible causes.

Oh, and it has been confirmed that an exit button will be making its way into a future release of DashCommand.  Smiley
Logged
Pages: [1] 2  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.09 seconds with 20 queries.
Home | News | Products | Downloads | Forum | Distributors | Store | Contact Us
Copyright © 2013 Palmer Performance Engineering, Inc. All Rights Reserved.