Sign up for our newsletter! 
Home News Products Downloads Forum Distributors Store Contact Us
PPE User Forum
December 11, 2017, 05:36:56 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4  All
  Print  
Author Topic: DashCommand not working with Innovate OT-2 as advertised  (Read 32819 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
headfalcon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


View Profile
« on: October 29, 2010, 11:15:00 pm »

Iphone App get OBD-II protocol not found, Windows Version get Error 104 then Error 109 on retry, ScanXL get same as windows DashCommand.   Angry

I am running Version 2.60 latest build.....

I can help troubleshoot if you want........please make the products work as advertised   Grin
Logged
kaptincocoa2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 42


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2010, 01:30:57 pm »

I too am trying to use the apple app ($49 ) and  have wasted my weekend fiddling with it.
It seems to have potential but the sad part is the in NO documentation with/for it ,, so here i am. there must be something very simple i am over looking (as the freeware with Innovate Logworks OT-2 RUNS GREAT) like an update, or a setting i've missed.
any reply will be appreciated.

Logged
freekyFX4
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2010, 02:22:46 am »

I am having issues using the iPad DashCommand app on my iPad.  Sometimes it won't connect at all.  Other times it conbnects but many of the gauges do not work.  Other times, the gauges work but jump constantly from low to high to low continuously, making the app totally useless.  I rated the app with 1 star.  It's the most expensive iPad app I have ever bought, and it is junk.  Like the previous poster, the freeware Innovate Logworks with the OT-2 RUNS GREAT.  Just wish this $50 app wasn't so bad.
Logged
kaptincocoa2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 42


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2010, 05:58:42 pm »

Hello the forum,
hey guys sounds like we're in the same boat.
( i must say upfront Weston has been good about this so far, we all have busy lives )
now as for the app and the $49+ tax. i never believed i'd get 49 times more out of it than the OT-2 but i do expect more than i have.
again for the money i DID expect DOCUMENTATION or an PDF like Logworks, but that said, maybe the more WE all work on this we just may get this app working better on the ipod , the phones and yes an Ipad.

Here is what i think may helpl,, post on other boards as there may be others using it with an OT-2, what you think?

there seems to be quite a few people here.

my current situation is to get the gauges to work AND WORK VERY WELL or this app will only get one *
Logged
Weston@PPE
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2234


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2010, 12:43:06 pm »

If you guys can get me tech logs of this, I will gladly look through them. For the iPhone/iPad, (before you connect) go to the Console > Debugging Options, and Enable Debugging. Then try to connect and wait for it to fail. After that, go back to Debugging Options and select Email Tech Log. You can email to yourself, and then attach it to your next post.
Logged
headfalcon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2010, 07:50:25 pm »

Weston, see attached techlog, I am getting the same errors on windows DC and Scanxl

* techlog.tr (7.18 KB - downloaded 440 times.)
Logged
anjo03
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 07, 2010, 08:52:15 am »

Same issue here with BMW M6 from 2005. LogWorks reads all PIDs fine. Techlog attached.

* techlog.tr (7.4 KB - downloaded 347 times.)
Logged
kaptincocoa2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 42


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: November 07, 2010, 12:01:57 pm »

still looking for an answer, simple would be nice,, but maybe i need to ask the simple question.
does anyone see a functioning dashboard?
(using a ot-2)
if so, what did you do setting up "your vehicle"
(the PID's??)
 i'll start with this because i wish i could get the gauges to work.
below is copied from their site
[Basic engine parameters - giving an overview of how the engine is functioning
Intake air temperature
Ambient air temperature
Engine coolant temperature
Timing or spark advance
Manifold absolute pressure
Mass air flow-
Fuel economy - giving you the tools you need to modify your driving habits
Average fuel consumption
Current fuel consumption
1 minute interval fuel consumption
5 minute interval fuel consumption
30 minute interval fuel consumption
Fuel level %
Fuel level volume
Distance to empty
Time to empty
Fuel flow]

thanks
Logged
Weston@PPE
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2234


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: November 08, 2010, 03:03:02 pm »

I've just pulled out an OT-2 and tested with DashCommand on my laptop, a 1st gen iPod Touch, and an iPhone with an OT-2 over WiFi. They all worked without any trouble... I also tested with multiple protocols, again no trouble. The iPhone gave me an Error Detecting Protocol 1 time, and I tried to connect a second time and it worked from then on out (only happened on 1 of 3 protocols also).

I'm not sure why you guys can't connect, we'll start looking through these tech logs to see what we can find.
Logged
kaptincocoa2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 42


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: November 09, 2010, 04:51:54 pm »

ok so how about how the touch is setup?
how is the "vehicle is set up".
the PIDs.
oh and did it read and find vin#
the codes
and the all important gauges?
thanks
gg
Logged
Weston@PPE
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2234


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: November 09, 2010, 06:49:03 pm »

kaptincocoa2,

I'll follow up with this through email. You have a different problem than the other 2.

headfalcon and anjo03,

We've looked at your logs and we think that we found a bug in the OT-2. We'll talk to Innovate about this and see what we can do.
Logged
kaptincocoa2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 42


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: November 10, 2010, 12:07:56 am »

thanks
gg
Logged
anjo03
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: November 11, 2010, 06:54:39 am »

@Weston@PPE : Thanks - I am looking forward to their response, then.
Logged
anjo03
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: November 18, 2010, 04:57:41 am »

Anything new from Innovative or you about the "bug" you found? Is it a bug in the interface or in the software or?
Logged
kaptincocoa2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 42


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: November 18, 2010, 02:32:29 pm »

ahhh these mysterious "BUGS"
just going to take a moment to comment,,,
while my car is in the shop for two days.
there has been one unexpected thing happen using my
OT-2 (free logworks app)
it seems it can display 16 PID's at a time, though it reads much more. and up until yesterday i only had a choice of around 16, and of those some i would get NA. but NOW i get maybe get around 30 and can display 16 that is continously. not just mph,ect, maf, rpm,load, but spark_adv,multiple O2, TP, shrtft's and longtf"s TP and much more.

so my question is simple,

why is it this stuff doesn't produce gauges i DC??

at least i have tons of files i can READ (on my pc) and compare when i getmy car back.
laters gg
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.053 seconds with 20 queries.
Home | News | Products | Downloads | Forum | Distributors | Store | Contact Us
Copyright © 2013 Palmer Performance Engineering, Inc. All Rights Reserved.