Home News Products Downloads Forum Distributors Store Contact Us
PPE User Forum
December 11, 2017, 04:02:10 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: what is the best obd2 hardware ineterface on the market that works with dashcomm  (Read 5968 times)

View Profile
« on: May 18, 2012, 10:01:02 pm »

im helping a friend with his car and im doing all the work for him.

since im new at this i need some info.

he and i like the looks of the dash command program.

i wanted to start with getting the obd module first. i need to know which one is the best on the market with the fastest rate.  we will be using this on a 97 bmw 318.

i have noticed the obdlink mentioned and the elmscan 5.

im not familar with either one nor do i know of other ones that are good too.
wifi as an extra is ok but from what i have read everywhere, usb is the way to go for speed and realiability.
correct me if im wrong or please feel free to add more info.

thanks.
John@PPE

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2012, 01:29:25 pm »

We try to maintain an equal relationship with all of the hardware vendors. As such, we don't try to promote one more than another.

However, generally speaking you will get better performance by paying more money.

In the case of USB vs WIFI you won't get much better performance. WIFI costs more but it's mainly for convenience sake. If you don't mind plugging in your laptop to the OBD-II interface, USB is a cheaper deal. Also, USB is for Windows only.

An incomplete list of compatible hardware can be found here: http://www.palmerperformance.com/hardware/index.php

However I don't recommend the OT-2 at this moment because there is an identified bug with some cars.
EliRider

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2012, 10:51:35 pm »

I totally respect equal promotion of your hardware vendors.