Sign up for our newsletter! 
Home News Products Downloads Forum Distributors Store Contact Us
PPE User Forum
January 16, 2018, 11:55:21 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 3 [All]
  Print  
Author Topic: DashCommand w/ 2005 GM Extended PIDs fuel readings backwards and wrong etc.  (Read 10533 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
treehan77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26


View Profile
« on: February 27, 2015, 10:04:15 am »

I have a 2005 GMC Yukon 4.8L 2WD.  I purchased the GM add-on for 2005.  For fuel, do i have to reset everytime i fill up?  I only have my reader plugged in occasionally.  I want to see how much of my tank is left and how many gallons, if possible.  What is the correct PIDs for those? I have tried GM.ENGINE.FL and it reports around 20-23, even though i just filled the tank up.  And the GM.ENGINE.FUEL_REM (Gallons) reports 362!  The dashboard reports this wrong too., saying Fuel Level % is 23% and range is 106 miles with a full tank.  My truck's gauge reads full, BTW.   I have set my tank size in the settings to 26.0 gallons, per the user manual for my vehicle.  Also, what is the correct PID for the current gear I'm in (it's an automatic).  Lastly, is there any way to get oil pressure?
« Last Edit: February 27, 2015, 06:29:35 pm by treehan77 » Logged
Maverick214
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2015, 08:43:44 pm »

Hi Treehan77,

I'm having the same problem with my 2004 GM Extended PIDS, I've posted here http://www.palmerperformance.com/forum/index.php?topic=9202.0 they have some suggestions that might work for you, but nothing worked for mine yet.  I haven't tried writing a script yet.

GM.ENGINE.FUEL_REM is way out on mine too.
Logged
treehan77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2015, 04:10:26 pm »

yeah i tried that, had already read the post too.  nothing's working for this yet.  DashCommand, will there be a fix for this?
Logged
treehan77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2015, 11:42:20 am »

It sure seems the GM.ENGINE.FUEL_REM PID actually is showing GM's "Range" / DTE reading, since it is within +-2% of my Range reading on the instrument cluster.  It obviously is not reading gallons like the description says it for, since it says 375 gallons remaining. 
Logged
John@PPE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3029


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2015, 02:51:09 pm »

So just to rephrase, are you saying that GM.ENGINE.FUEL_REM is showing miles rather than gallons?
Logged
treehan77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2015, 03:33:07 pm »

Yes. The figure seems to be always within a mile or two of what my trucks dashboard says for "Range", distance to empty.
Logged
treehan77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2015, 04:02:56 pm »

Here is my personal theory with the GM fuel PIDs for 2005 at least.  My truck theoretically holds 26.0 gallons (according to the manual), and is full.  GM_Engine.FT_CAP is CORRECT and reports 25.23 gallons.  GM.ENGINE.FL is incorrectly reporting 14.1% full.  GM.ENGINE.FUEL_REM is incorrectly showing 372.6 gallons.  This seems to be the distance until empty, "Range" that the truck's dashboard shows, which is 375 miles currently when full, not gallons.  I'm betting GM.ENGINE.FL is actually showing me the GM.ENGINE.FUEL_REM divided by the number of gallons left.  Surely its not completely full, but even 100% full numbers seems to be awful close to the 14.1% that is being reported.  372.6 MILES (not gallons!) / 25.23 gallons = 14.76.  Like i said, very close to the "% Fuel Level" of 14.1 DashCommand is reporting for GM.ENGINE.FL.  This GM.ENGINE.FL % gets HIGHER the less gas i have left in the tank, which seems plausible since the divisor would be getting smaller.  Since this is not my daily driver, i won't have more test data available for a while, but I believe this theory is worth at least looking at.  Not sure how DashCommand maps these things, but it seems very possible it would be an easy mistake.  I really like DashCommand, its very well done and i enjoy using it.  I have recommended to several friends and family.  I am a software engineer myself, so i understand bugs, but I believe we can get them fixed and make DashCommand even better!
Logged
John@PPE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3029


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2015, 08:15:45 pm »

All right. I'll have my engineer take another look at this. Thanks.
Logged
drumfunken
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: March 03, 2015, 07:58:59 am »

I've been experiencing the same problems with my Dash command Fuel Gauges. I tried every fuel PID and not a single one was accurate.

Whats the point of the app of if you can't even get the MPG and Fuel Level correct. Either fix this or refund me my $20.



I'll by a used samsung s4 and use torque which provides way more information.
Logged
treehan77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: March 03, 2015, 09:04:34 am »

I'd like to know if Torque gets the correct values. That would help figure out if the GM PIDS are somehow wrong, or if they are being interpreted incorrectly by the app etc. @drumfunken what make/model are you using, is it a 2005 GM?
« Last Edit: March 03, 2015, 09:07:25 am by treehan77 » Logged
drumfunken
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: March 03, 2015, 10:08:37 am »

It's a 2002 gmc sonoma 4.3l vortec and yes the fuel gauge is accurate using my gf's bluetooth scanner and torque as well as other bluetooth apps. There are even PIDs DashCommand doesn't provide.

Really thinking if picking up a cheap tablet and running torque instead of the iPad. Screw dash command they don't care about there customers. They blame everyone but their programmers.
Logged
treehan77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: March 03, 2015, 10:16:58 am »

Interesting.  What PIDs do you get that DashCommand doesn't?  It seems like DashCommand's people are going to look into this.  Did you submit a request for this problem?  If nobobdy says anything, it's hard for the programmers to know.  I assume they don't have every car in their office to test!
« Last Edit: March 03, 2015, 10:18:40 am by treehan77 » Logged
drumfunken
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: March 03, 2015, 10:28:22 am »

I've made several complaints my biggest being, the biggest piece of fail safe devices we use is a oil pressure gauge and oil temp gauge.
Logged
treehan77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: March 03, 2015, 11:01:40 am »

So Torque shows you Oil Pressure and Oil Temp?
Logged
drumfunken
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: March 03, 2015, 12:13:56 pm »

Yes depending on model and year of course. Not all obd2 ports produce all the PIDs we wish we had.
Logged
treehan77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: March 04, 2015, 08:03:00 am »

@john@Ppe-  it seems the GM.ENGINE.FUEL_REM value is diverging from my trucks' range value. After putting another 50 miles on, the DashCommand value is 328, whereas the range on the truck says 347. The GM.ENGINE.FL is now showing 21%, so I am hoping your engineer can figure out exactly what is going on with this. I have to admit, I'd like to see what Torque Pro would show me, but all I have is an iPhone. Thanks for your responses, I hope DashCommand can get this right.
Logged
John@PPE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3029


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: March 04, 2015, 05:50:42 pm »

We found some bugs in our code. We'll be posting a fix hopefully in the next few weeks.
Logged
Maverick214
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: March 04, 2015, 06:05:45 pm »

2004 GM seems to be affected by this too.
Logged
treehan77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: March 05, 2015, 09:33:09 pm »

Awesome, i'm looking forward to the bug fixes!
Logged
treehan77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: March 12, 2015, 08:47:21 pm »

any progress on these GM enhanced fuel bugs?
Logged
John@PPE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3029


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: March 13, 2015, 08:37:32 am »

Yep. Still working on getting it right.
Logged
treehan77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26


View Profile
« Reply #21 on: March 24, 2015, 12:35:15 pm »

Just wondering if the GM fuel PIDS are done or almost done. When will we get a new release, and what will I need to do, re validate PIDS after downloading new app version?  Thanks!:
Logged
John@PPE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3029


View Profile
« Reply #22 on: March 24, 2015, 01:20:15 pm »

Getting close to the next release. All you will need to do is update once it comes out.
Logged
treehan77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: March 30, 2015, 12:24:18 pm »

when is the new release coming out?
Logged
John@PPE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3029


View Profile
« Reply #24 on: March 30, 2015, 12:38:47 pm »

Android is already out. For iOS users we've submitted the build to Apple. If they approve the build it should be out this week.
Logged
treehan77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26


View Profile
« Reply #25 on: April 06, 2015, 02:22:43 pm »

so what formula do CALC.DTE, GM.ENGINE.FL, GM.ENGINE.FUEL_REM and CALC.FC.IFC use now?
Logged
treehan77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26


View Profile
« Reply #26 on: April 08, 2015, 09:36:49 am »

^ anyone?
Logged
John@PPE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3029


View Profile
« Reply #27 on: April 10, 2015, 11:17:20 am »

The GM PIDs are read from the vehicle. They are not calculated. But we did find a bug in the way it was getting read on some vehicles. That should be fixed now.

The DTE PID now uses the GM.ENGINE.FUEL_REM or GM.ENGINE.FUEL_LVL, depending on what it can find. If those are not available there are a couple of others that it tries.
Logged
treehan77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26


View Profile
« Reply #28 on: April 13, 2015, 05:56:23 pm »

Well I can say the gallons of fuel seems to read correctly now after the latest update. But any distance to empty or fuel level remaining % are still wrong. It says I have 25.6 gallons out of my 25.23 gallon tank and it says 16% fuel remaining and range is way off. Becoming irritating that DashCommand doesn't work correctly. The GM.ENGINE.FL appears to be the only available PID for a fuel gauge (%) and it is saying 16% even though I have a full tank. Strangely the tuxedo dashboard says I have just over 100% fuel remaining though  I don't know if this is a straight reading or what PID it is, but it's not available for my gauges anywhere. I did reset the fuel thing in the dashboard when I filled up though, so maybe it's calculating from that. I need a gauge that shows me fuel % that is correct, it sure seems like GM.ENGINE.FUEL_REM / GM.ENGINE.FT_CAP * 100  wouldn't be too tough, or fixing how GM.ENGINE.FL is read



* image.jpg (163.9 KB, 640x1136 - viewed 338 times.)
« Last Edit: April 13, 2015, 07:41:54 pm by treehan77 » Logged
John@PPE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3029


View Profile
« Reply #29 on: April 13, 2015, 07:44:23 pm »

We did test on the couple of GM vehicles we have available. No Yukon in our fleet however.

The Tuxedo is using the CALC.FLI I believe. It calculates that from the  GM.ENGINE.FUEL_REM and GM.ENGINE.FT_CAP PIDs.

We've seen that on different vehicles, different PIDs have bogus information. So you kind of have to understand which PIDs work on your vehicle. Unfortunately, the GM vehicle claims to report the PID, but gives the errant value. But there should be enough good information there to have the Tuxedo dashboard work. And if you are looking for a percentage gauge then I'd suggest the CALC.FLI PID.
Logged
treehan77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26


View Profile
« Reply #30 on: April 13, 2015, 07:59:09 pm »

CALC.FLI will have to do then thanks at least it seems fairly accurate now.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [All]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.079 seconds with 20 queries.
Home | News | Products | Downloads | Forum | Distributors | Store | Contact Us
Copyright © 2013 Palmer Performance Engineering, Inc. All Rights Reserved.